Root Chakra

The root chakra or Muladhara, is the first of the chakras. Balancing the root chakra creates the solid foundation for balancing all the other chakras.

Located at the base of the spine, the pelvic floor, and the first three vertebrae, the root chakra is responsible for your sense of safety and security on this earthly plane. The word Muladhara breaks down into two Sanskrit words: Mula meaning “root” and Adhara, which means “support” or “base.”

A little more about your first chakra…
  • Endocrine gland: Adrenal cortex/Adrenal glands (fight-flight
  • Organs/regions: bladder, colon/large intestine, skeleton, foot, leg, teeth, arterial blood flow to left chamber of heart.
  • Balanced/flowing energy: When this chakra is open/energy flowing, we feel safe, at home in the world, and fearless.
  • Imbalanced: Root Chakra is blocked by fear and various forms of trauma.
  • Psychological symptoms of blockage include: anxiety disorders, fear, panic attacks, worry, overthinking, depression, nightmares, emotionally disconnected, disconnected from the body, anger/rage.
  • Physical symptoms of blockage include: lethargic and physically drained, problems in the colon, with the bladder, with bowel movements, or with lower back, left arm, leg, or feet issues, Inflammation, cramps. In men, prostate problems may occur.
  • Root Chakra governs our physical energies—giving us a sense of safety and security with other people, ourselves, and trusting in life. Without balancing it, no matter how hard we try, higher chakras can not be healed / unblocked/ flow until Root chakra is flowing.
  • Element: Earth
  • Color: Red

Balancing the Root Chakra

  • Stones/Gems: garnet, red jasper, black tourmaline, and bloodstone.
  • Nutrition: eating red fruits (beets, tomatoes, strawberries, cherries)
  • Connecting to the earth, walking barefoot on the grass, gardening, and other outside activities.
  • Asana (yoga poses): Primary focus on YIN (acceptance)
    *  Pavanamuktasana—knee to chest pose
    *  Janu Sirsansana—head to knee Pose
    *  Padmasana—lotus flexion
    *  Malasana—squatting pose
    *  Tadasana —mountain pose
    *  Shavasana—corpse pose
    *  Virabhadrasana I —Warrior I (*this is a yang pose, but strengthens courage, make sure to stand barefoot on earth)
  • Essential Oils: Sandalwood, Rosewood, Rosemary, Black Pepper, Cedar, Clove, Ginger, Frankincense, Myrrh

Root Chakra Affirmations:
I feel centered
I am home
I am connected to my body
My body is my home
I feel safe and secure
I stand for my values, truth, and justice
I have what I need
I am kind and compassionate to myself
I have infinite possibilities
I am grateful for challenges because they make me stronger
I am fearless
I trust myself
I love myself
I trust Source to provide for my basic needs
I nurture myself with healthy food, clean water, clean air, exercise, relaxation, and connection to nature

Jenn Schiavone is currently accepting Holistic Life Coaching sessions. Reach out for your complimentary introductory session.